Nottingham & District Branch

Nottingham & District Branch

Branch membership currently stands at 122 and 30 attend the meetings. There is a guest speaker at most meetings.

BRANCH SECRETARY – Colin Rolle Tel: 01623 646 789

CHAIRMAN – Victor Perrett Tel: 01158 499 801

Membership subscriptions for 2020 are £4.00 – Widower or Widow £2.00
Please make cheques payable to BTPF Nottingham & District Branch.

COMMITTEE for 2020
Once again we are very pleased that our Branch has a full committee.  What we need is more ordinary members – if interested please contact Colin Rolle on 01623 646 789.


Morning Friends!: It’s my Sad Duty to Advise You All That Our Dear Friend & Respected Colleague `Frank’ `Passed Away last Night at `The Annersley Lodge Home Hucknall @ approx. 8.40pm! I Was Advised by `Marie’ (Close Family Friend) that `C’ Virus was a Contributing Factor to `Frank’s` Demise’ & Ultimate End; Although I knew Franks Life was coming to a Close I’m Still Distressed at Final Outcome after all this time since Frank first became `Unwell’ Just After Xmas/New Year Period & am Glad that along with others of his extended `Rly Family’ (Colin Rolle & George Hornbuckle) We had Opportunity to Visit Him whilst he was Still able to Chat/Reminisce about `Old BR Day’s !

The Only other `News’ I can Impart re `Arrangements’ is that the `Service will be held Up @ Wilford Hill (Crematorium) within Next Two weeks &
Obviously I will keep U All informed; Although at this Stage I Don’t Know `Logistics’ Or `Compliance’ Rules for `Mourner’s I sincerely Hope You
are All managing to Keep Safe & Well during this time of Disruption & that We Will be able to perhaps Meet Up sometime soon to remember `Frank’ & other Friends & Family affected!?

Warmest Regards ‘Vic’

Frank Read R.I.P.

A Tribute

by Roderick Fowkes

How pleasing it was to see Frank Read enjoying himself earlier this year as a special guest at Meadow lane watching Notts County and receiving a standing ovation from the crowd in recognition of his long-time support.

Frank was a relief stationmaster when we first met fifty-five years ago, his tenure at Trent  station where I was a Telegraph Clerk was relatively short but his wit and authority held him in high esteem. I still have the memo he drafted in late summer of 1965 of my impending marriage in October.

David Winckle was also a relief stationmaster from the Derby contingent at the same time and waxed lyrical in later years regarding Frank’s secretive visit to London, not for a haircut, but for something more substantial.

I had further dealings with Frank during my five years as DMU controller at Nottingham when he was relieving at the station and holding sidings.

Some will have more definitive recollections of Frank Read, I’m certainly glad to have met him.

A true gentleman!


The Nottingham Branch held their Annual General Meeting on 23rd January 2020.   The meeting was attended by 25 members and we are pleased to say we once again have a full committee.   Very warm welcome to Peter Brookes.   Our Speaker was the Railway Chaplain Colin Fraser.   Ten members showed an interest in attending the Loco naming ceremony in York.

Wednesday 6th MayCANCELLED

Wednesday 23rd September – Speaker Peter Brookes – topic Canals.

All meetings held at Nottingham Mechanics Institute 2 North Sherwood Street, Nottingham
10.15 for 10.30 start

NEWSLETTER December 2019

Click HERE to read the Newsletter 

Christmas Lunch 2019
Christmas lunch – the Branch held its Christmas lunch on 4th December attended by 15 members. This was a 3 course festive lunch followed by coffee at the Nottingham Mechanics Institute.

Loco Naming

Postponed due to Coronavirus. Watch this space for new date.

All our branch members are invited to the National Railway Museum at York on Tuesday 9th June 2020 for the Class 47 naming ceremony. The loco will be named the British Transport Pensioners Federation. The BTPF President M.C. Holmes OBE will perform the opening ceremony at 11.30am.

Joint Nottingham Branch and Leicester Branch Lunch

Below is a photo taken at a joint Nottingham Branch and Leicester Branch lunch, held recently in Market Harborough. 

Left to right we have; Geoff Knapp, Ron Sutton, Steve Hewett and Vic Perrett.

Pictures thanks to Frank Read (Retired `Chief’ Inspector @ Nottingham Midland )

Check out the website below